Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Florin 1871

Detailed information about Coin: Florin 1871 from United Kingdom

Coin: Florin 1871

The florin was introduced in 1849 as the first move towards decimalisation of the British coinage. It was 1/10th of a pound or 2 shillings.

This, the second issue, is known as the "Gothic florin" because of the use of Gothic lettering in the legend.

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling (pre-decimal)
Face value2 (x Shilling) TypeGothic Florin
Year1871 CurrentNo (demonetised 1993)
Mintage3,425,605 (3.4 million)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint No mint mark 3,425,605 (3.4 million)
Material0.925 Silver Designer
MonarchQueen Victoria EffigyPortrait by William Wyon (Gothic)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm) Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)11.3104

Crowned bust of Queen Victoria facing left, the dress decorated with roses, thistles and shamrocks; at edge below the bust in small letters the artist's initials W.W. (for William Wyon); around in Gothic letters, Victoria d: g: britt: reg: f: d: mdccclxxi (MDCCCLXXI is the year 1871 in Roman numerals). Die number below the Queen's bust.

Note: the legend has "britt" (double t) unlike florins to 1867.

Obverse inscription Victoria d: g: britt: reg: f: d: mdccclxvxxi

Four crowned shields forming a cross around a rose, the shields bear the arms of England, top and bottom, Scotland at right and Ireland at left; between shields under arched canopy, two roses, a thistle and a shamrock; around above, One florin; around below, one tenth of a pound, in Gothic letters.

Reverse inscriptionOne florin one tenth of a pound
EdgeMilled Edge inscriptionNone
Florin 1871: Known varieties
Proof unknown
Proof (plain edge) unknown
Florin 1871: Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsGreat Britain KM# 746.2
Spink, Coins of England and the United Kingdom3893
Florin 1871: References to Information Used
Museums Victoria Collections 2016 Coin description
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mint
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mintage
Spink, Coins of England and the United Kingdom Varieties Proof
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Varieties Proofs (milled and plain edge)
For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
The biggest New Zealand numismatic event of 2017 – the Numismatic Society of Auckland and Royal Numismatic Society of New Zealand DECIMAL 50 conference
The biggest New Zealand numismatic event of 2017 – the Numismatic Society of Auckland and Royal Numismatic Society of New Zealand DECIMAL 50 conference
List of all (119) coins of type: United Kingdom / Florin
Decade 1848 Pattern Florin 1848 Pattern Florin 1848 (Proof only) Florin 1849 Godless Florin 1851 Florin 1852
Florin 1853 Florin 1854 Florin 1855 Florin 1856 Florin 1857 Florin 1858
Florin 1859 Florin 1860 Florin 1862 Florin 1863 Florin 1864 Florin 1865
Florin 1866 Florin 1867 Florin 1868 Florin 1869 Florin 1870 Florin 1871
Florin 1872 Florin 1873 Florin 1874 Florin 1875 Florin 1876 Florin 1877
Florin 1878 Florin 1879 Florin 1880 Florin 1881 Florin 1883 Florin 1884
Florin 1885 Florin 1886 Florin 1887 Gothic Florin 1887 Jubilee Florin 1888 Florin 1889
Florin 1890 Florin 1891 Florin 1892 Florin 1893 Florin 1894 Florin 1895
Florin 1896 Florin 1897 Florin 1898 Florin 1899 Florin 1900 Florin 1901
Florin 1902 Florin 1903 Florin 1904 Florin 1905 Florin 1906 Florin 1907
Florin 1908 Florin 1909 Florin 1910 Florin 1911 Florin 1912 Florin 1913
Florin 1914 Florin 1915 Florin 1916 Florin 1917 Florin 1918 Florin 1919
Florin 1920 Florin 1921 Florin 1922 Florin 1923 Florin 1924 Florin 1925
Florin 1926 Florin 1927 (Proof only) Florin 1928 Florin 1929 Florin 1930 Florin 1931
Florin 1932 Florin 1933 Florin 1935 Florin 1936 Two Shillings (Florin) 1937 Two Shillings (Florin) 1938
Two Shillings (Florin) 1939 Two Shillings (Florin) 1940 Two Shillings (Florin) 1941 Two Shillings (Florin) 1942 Two Shillings (Florin) 1943 Two Shillings (Florin) 1944
Two Shillings (Florin) 1945 Two Shillings (Florin) 1946 Two Shillings (Florin) 1947 Two Shillings (Florin) 1948 Two Shillings (Florin) 1949 Two Shillings (Florin) 1950
Two Shillings (Florin) 1951 Two Shillings (Florin) 1953 Two Shillings (Florin) 1954 Two Shillings (Florin) 1955 Two Shillings (Florin) 1956 Two Shillings (Florin) 1957
Two Shillings (Florin) 1958 Two Shillings (Florin) 1959 Two Shillings (Florin) 1960 Two Shillings (Florin) 1961 Two Shillings (Florin) 1962 Two Shillings (Florin) 1963
Two Shillings (Florin) 1964 Two Shillings (Florin) 1965 Two Shillings (Florin) 1966 Two Shillings (Florin) 1967 Two Shillings (Florin) 1970 (Proof only)