Information about mint: Münze Österreich (Austrian Mint)

Münze Österreich (Austrian Mint) (1194 - present)

The Austrian Mint (German: Münze Österreich) is located in Vienna and is responsible for minting Austrian coins. Since 1989 it has been a public limited company (Aktiengesellschaft) and a subsidiary of the National Bank of Austria, which also has its headquarters in Vienna.

The Austrian Mint carries out both the design and stamping of the coins it produces. Until 2002 it was only responsible for minting the coins of the Austrian schilling; since then it has been responsible for producing the Austrian euro coins. The mint also produces other coins, such as gold bullion coins, as well as commemorative issues: the Vienna Philharmonic coins and the Maria Theresa thaler are produced by the Austrian mint, for example. The mint also supplies circulation coins and blanks to many other countries across the world.

In 1194, Duke Leopold V of Austria was paid 15 tonnes of silver by Richard the Lionheart. On his way back from the crusades Richard had been captured and imprisoned by the Duke in retaliation for a previous insult; he paid the bounty to secure his release from prison. Leopold decided to strike coins from the silver, marking the beginning of the history of minting in Vienna (though the Vienna Mint was not actually mentioned in historical documents for another 200 years).

The mint was originally located near the Hoher Markt, then relocated to the Wollzeile. Subsequently, it was housed in Prince Eugene’s winter palace in Himmelpfortgasse, before finally moving to its present home at Heumarkt, central Vienna, in the 19th century.

Though other mints were established across Austria in the past, the Vienna Principal Mint became the sole mint when the Republic of Austria was formed in 1919. The mint changed its name to Münze Österreich ("Austrian Mint") when it became a subsidiary of the National Bank of Austria in 1989.

Coins struck by: Münze Österreich (Austrian Mint) (28)
CountryYearNameMintageMint Mark
Bulgaria 1910 Two Leva 1910 400,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1910 One Lev 1910 unknown No mint mark
Montenegro, Kingdom of 1910 Two Perpera 1910 unknown None
Bulgaria 1912 One Hundred Leva 1912 5,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1912 Twenty Leva 1912 unknown No mint mark
Montenegro, Kingdom of 1912 One Perper 1912 unknown None
Bulgaria 1913 Two Leva 1913 500,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1913 One Lev 1913 unknown No mint mark
Bulgaria 1913 Twenty Stotinki 1913 5,000,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1913 Ten Stotinki 1913 20,000,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1913 Five Stotinki 1913 20,000,000 No mint mark
Montenegro, Kingdom of 1914 One Perper 1914 unknown None
Bulgaria 1916 Two Leva 1916 unknown No mint mark
Bulgaria 1916 One Lev 1916 unknown No mint mark
Bulgaria 1923 Two Leva 1923 unknown No mint mark
Bulgaria 1923 One Lev 1923 40,000,000 No mint mark
Austria 1926 One Hundred Schilling 1926 63,795 None
Austria 1927 One Hundred Schilling 1927 68,746 None
Austria 1931 One Hundred Schilling 1931 101,935 None
Austria 1934 One Hundred Schilling 1934 9,383 None
Austria 1936 One Hundred Schilling 1936 12,000 None
Austria 1936 Twenty-five Schilling 1936 7,260 None
Bulgaria 1941 Ten Leva 1941 2,200,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1941 Five Leva 1941 15,000,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1943 Ten Leva 1943 25,000,000 No mint mark
Bulgaria 1943 Five Leva 1943 36,000,000 No mint mark
Austria 1976 One Thousand Schilling 1976 1,800,000 None
Austria 1995 One Thousand Schilling 1995 60,000 None
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Münze Österreich (Austrian Mint): Details
From Year1194
Web(official site)
Advertising (helps this site)
Share or Bookmark this Page
Mint Marks used by: Münze Österreich (Austrian Mint)
No mint mark