Royal Mint: List of Coin Types Minted (Page 2 of 2)

Royal Mint (886 - )

The Royal Mint is the body permitted to manufacture, or mint, the coins of the United Kingdom. The Royal Mint originated over 1100 years ago, producing coins for England and eventually Great Britain.

Since 2010 it has operated as Royal Mint Ltd, a company owned by HM Treasury, under an exclusive contract to supply all coinage for the UK. Royal Mint Ltd is 100% owned by HM Treasury, though the latter delegates shareholder responsibilities to the Shareholder Executive.

As well as minting coins for the UK, The Royal Mint also mints and exports coins to many other countries and produces military medals, commemorative medals, and other such items for governments, schools and businesses, being known as the world's leading exporting mint.

Responsibility for the security of the site falls to the Ministry of Defence Police, who provide an armed contingent.

In 1968 The Royal Mint began to move its operations from Tower Hill in the City of London to Llantrisant, Mid Glamorgan, Wales, and has operated on a single site in Llantrisant since 1980. At Llantrisant it holds an extensive collection of coins dating from the 16th century onwards, housed in eighty cabinets made by Elizabeth II's cabinet maker, Hugh Swann. The site occupies 38 acres (15 ha) and employs 765 people.

The annual Trial of the Pyx assays coins produced for the UK government for size, weight and chemical composition.

Coin Types predominantly or exclusively minted by: Royal Mint (126)
Showing 101 to 126 of 126 coin types.
Bullion Star - Buy and Store Bullion in Singapore
Bullion Star - Buy and Store Bullion in Singapore
Royal Mint: Details
From Year886
CountryUnited Kingdom
LocationLlantrisant, Wales
Web(official site)
Advertising (helps this site)
Share or Bookmark this Page
Mint Marks used by: Royal Mint
Letter B

Between 1968 and 1970, the Royal Mint struck coins for Switzerland to supplement the capacity of Swissmint in a period when much of Swiss currency was being changed from silver to copper-nickel. Consistent with Royal Mint tradition, these coins had no mint mark. However, according to some sources there was an exception in 1969 when some 1 Franc coins were struck by the Royal Mint but carrying Swissmint's mark B. For additional information and detailed discussion, see (in German):

[Article] Ruedi Kunzmann: "Die Silbermünzenkrise der Schweiz von 1968 und die Tätigkeit der Royal Mint, London". In: Schweizer Münzblätter. Vol. 50, Nº 200, 2000, ISSN 0016-5565, p. 68-72. [PDF]

Letters PL

Letters PL (abbreviated from "Percussa Londinio" in Latin, meaning "struck at London").

- after the word PENNY on the reverse of Australian One Penny coins
- above the date on Australian Sixpence coins
- above the the words THREE PENCE, in the folds of the ribbon of the "stalks of grain" Australian threepence coins

No mint mark

With very few exceptions, coins minted by the Royal Mint do not have a mint mark.