Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Sovereign 1837 Victoria

Detailed information about Coin: Sovereign 1837 Victoria from United Kingdom

Coin: Sovereign 1837 Victoria

Pattern. Proof only. Three varieties, all extremely rare. Not listed in Spink or Friedberg.

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling (pre-decimal)
Face value1 (x Pound) TypeSovereign (Shield)
Year1837 CurrentNo (demonetised 1971)
Mintageunknown RarityR5 (9 to 14 examples known)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint No mint mark unknown, Rarity: R5 (9 to 14 examples known)
Material0.9167 Gold DesignerJean Baptiste Merlen
MonarchQueen Victoria EffigyPortrait by William Wyon (Young Head)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)22.0500 Thickness (mm)1.5200
Mass (g)7.9881

"Small head" pattern.

Young head of Queen Victoria facing left wearing ribbon (double fillet) in her hair; the hair is collected up into a knot behind; around, the legend VICTORIA DEI GRATIA (Victoria, by the Grace of God); the designer's initials W.W. (for William Wyon) are in relief on the neck truncation.

In the field below the neck truncation, the date 1837.

Obverse inscription VICTORIA DEI GRATIA 1837

The Ensigns Armorial of the United Kingdom within a plain shield quartered with the arms of England (1 & 4), Scotland (2) and Ireland (3), surmounted by a crown. A branch of laurel is shown on each side of the shield, tied at the bottom by a ribbon. At the bottom, the Thistle, Rose and Shamrock (symbols of Scotland, England and Ireland respectively) are placed with a small flower stop on each side.

Around, the rest of the monarch's legend (continuing from the obverse): BRITANNIARUM REGINA FID: DEF: (Queen of the Britains, Defender of the Faith).

Unlike the half sovereign coins, the laurel branches on either side of the shield have not been removed. However, the escutcheon with the Hanoverian arms has been removed. The reason for this is that the right to the Kingdom of Hanover was limited to the male line of succession and Queen Victoria did not inherit it. Its crown passed instead to King Ernest Augustus I, the fifth son of King George III.

Reverse inscriptionBRITANNIAR: REG FID: DEF:
EdgeMilled Edge inscriptionNone

Type IA by Marsh.

References to additional information:

[Book] Remick, Jerome. The Guide Book and Catalogue to British Commonwealth Coins, Regency Coins and Stamps Ltd, Winnipeg, Canada, 1971, p257
[Book] Marsh, Michael A. The Gold Sovereign. Cambridge Coins, Cambridge, UK, 1980. (2017 ed. pp 27-40)

Sovereign 1837 Victoria: Known varieties
Large head unknown
Wide spaced legend (Marsh 21D) unknown, Rarity: R5 (9 to 14 examples known)
Milled edge (Marsh 21E) unknown, Rarity: R6 (4 to 8 examples known)
Wider spaced legend, WW incuse (Marsh 21F) unknown, Rarity: R6 (4 to 8 examples known)
Sovereign 1837 Victoria: Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Marsh, The Gold Sovereign21C, 21D, 21E, 21F
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsGreat Britain KM# Pn102, Pn103 (Large head),
Sovereign 1837 Victoria: References to Information Used
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mint
Marsh, The Gold Sovereign Varieties
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Varieties Large head
UK coin dealer supplying high quality and carefully graded antique coins to the discerning collector
UK coin dealer supplying high quality and carefully graded antique coins to the discerning collector
List of all (148) coins of type: United Kingdom / Sovereign (Pre-Decimal)
Sovereign 1817 Sovereign 1818 Sovereign 1819 Sovereign 1820 Sovereign 1821 Sovereign 1822
Sovereign 1823 Sovereign 1824 St George Sovereign 1824 Shield (Pattern) Sovereign 1825 St George Sovereign 1825 Shield Sovereign 1826
Sovereign 1827 Sovereign 1828 Sovereign 1829 Sovereign 1830 George IV Sovereign 1830 William IV Sovereign 1831
Sovereign 1832 Sovereign 1833 Sovereign 1835 Sovereign 1836 Sovereign 1837 William IV Sovereign 1837 Victoria
Sovereign 1838 Sovereign 1839 Sovereign 1841 Sovereign 1842 Sovereign 1843 Sovereign 1844
Sovereign 1845 Sovereign 1846 Sovereign 1847 Sovereign 1848 Sovereign 1849 Sovereign 1850
Sovereign 1851 Sovereign 1852 Sovereign 1853 Sovereign 1854 Sovereign 1855 Sovereign 1856
Sovereign 1857 Sovereign 1858 Sovereign 1859 Sovereign 1860 Sovereign 1861 Sovereign 1862
Sovereign 1863 Sovereign 1864 Sovereign 1865 Sovereign 1866 Sovereign 1868 Sovereign 1869
Sovereign 1870 Sovereign 1871 Shield Sovereign 1871 St George Sovereign 1872 Shield Sovereign 1872 St George Sovereign 1873 Shield
Sovereign 1873 St George Sovereign 1874 Shield Sovereign 1874 St George Sovereign 1875 Shield Sovereign 1875 St George Sovereign 1876 St George
Sovereign 1877 Shield Sovereign 1877 St George Sovereign 1878 Shield Sovereign 1878 St George Sovereign 1879 Shield Sovereign 1879 St George
Sovereign 1880 Shield Sovereign 1880 St George Sovereign 1881 Shield Sovereign 1881 St George Sovereign 1882 Shield Sovereign 1882 St George
Sovereign 1883 Shield Sovereign 1883 St George Sovereign 1884 Shield Sovereign 1884 St George Sovereign 1885 Shield Sovereign 1885 St George
Sovereign 1886 Shield Sovereign 1886 St George Sovereign 1887 Shield Sovereign 1887 St George, Jubilee head Sovereign 1887 St George, Young head Sovereign 1888
Sovereign 1889 Sovereign 1890 Sovereign 1891 Sovereign 1892 Sovereign 1893 Jubilee head Sovereign 1893 Veiled head
Sovereign 1894 Sovereign 1895 Sovereign 1896 Sovereign 1897 Sovereign 1898 Sovereign 1899
Sovereign 1900 Sovereign 1901 Sovereign 1902 Sovereign 1903 Sovereign 1904 Sovereign 1905
Sovereign 1906 Sovereign 1907 Sovereign 1908 Sovereign 1909 Sovereign 1910 Sovereign 1911
Sovereign 1912 Sovereign 1913 Sovereign 1914 Sovereign 1915 Sovereign 1916 Sovereign 1917
Sovereign 1918 Sovereign 1919 Sovereign 1920 Sovereign 1921 Sovereign 1922 Sovereign 1923
Sovereign 1924 Sovereign 1925 Sovereign 1926 Sovereign 1927 Sovereign 1928 Sovereign 1929
Sovereign 1930 Sovereign 1931 Sovereign 1932 Sovereign 1937 Edward VIII (not released) Sovereign 1937 (Proof only) Sovereign 1953 (not released)
Sovereign 1957 Sovereign 1958 Sovereign 1959 Sovereign 1962 Sovereign 1963 Sovereign 1964
Sovereign 1965 Sovereign 1966 Sovereign 1967 Sovereign 1968